Board of Trustees

Trustees of The Canadian Foundation for Legal Research

  • Michelle J. Ouellette, Q.C., Chair McKercher LLP, Saskatoon, SK
      Ms. Ouellette is a senior litigation partner whose practice focuses on health law and professional defence and regulation. She has been an active volunteer and presenter in both the legal community and the community at large. She was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2007. Ms. Ouellette currently serves as Chair of the Saskatchewan Legal Aid Commission.
  • Stephen L. Bresolin, C.P.A., C.A., Secretary-Treasurer Bresolin Consulting, Ottawa, ON
      Mr. Bresolin’s role as trustee and Secretary-Treasurer began in 2007. His work with Bresolin Consulting in Ottawa spans more than a decade. Between 1991 and 2007, Mr. Bresolin served as Associate Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer at the Canadian Bar Association.
  • Michelle C. Awad, Q.C. McInnes Cooper, Halifax, NS
      Ms. Awad is a senior partner in McInnes Cooper’s Litigation and Insurance Groups. She is a Fellow of both the American College of Trial Lawyers and the International Academy of Trial Lawyers. Her practice areas include commercial litigation, products liability, securities, risk management, shareholder disputes, defamation and insurance.
  • The Hon. Sanjeev S. Anand, Ph. D., Q.C. Provincial Court of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK
      Sanjeev Anand served as Dean of Law at the University of Saskatchewan from 2011‒2014, when he was appointed to the Provincial Court of Saskatchewan. Prior to his appointment as dean, he was a full Professor of Law at the University of Alberta, where he taught for 10 years. A former prosecutor, he began his career as a Legal Aid staff lawyer whose practice dealt primarily with the defence of young offenders. Along with almost 40 peer-reviewed journal articles that he has authored or coauthored, he is also the coauthor of the leading treatise on Canada’s juvenile justice system as well as a book on substantive criminal law.
  • David C. Day, Q.C. Lewis, Day, St. John's, NL
      Since admission to the Newfoundland and Labrador Bar 50 years ago, Mr. Day has practiced as litigator, primarily in areas of civil, criminal, family, constitutional, personal injury and administrative (judicial defence) law. He has appeared in the Supreme Court of Canada and courts of five provinces. He has served as counsel to the Mount Cashel, Turner and numerous sudden death inquiries, and occupied the advocacy chair at University of Calgary Law School. He is author or co-author of books and papers, and a lecturer, on professional responsibility, family and criminal law. He is an editor of The Canadian Bar Review and at Carswell-Thomson Reuters Canada. He was invested as Queen’s Counsel in 1980 and appointed a Master of Supreme Court of Newfoundland and Labrador in 2010. He has been a Director of The Canadian Foundation for Legal Research (and member of the jury responsible for awarding the Walter Owen Book Prize, funded by the Foundation) since 1999.
  • Edwin C. Harris, Q.C. Parklea Consulting Inc., Halifax, NS
      In 2014, in recognition of his status as an extraordinary alumnus, Mr. Harris was inducted into the Bertha Wilson Honour Society at Dalhousie University’s Schulich School of Law. His long career as a corporate and tax litigator has involved writing, as well as lecturing at the former Dalhousie Law School.
  • The Hon. John R.R. Jennings, Q.C. Superior Court of Justice, Toronto, ON
      Mr. Jennings was admitted to the Ontario Bar in 1964. Among the prestigious appointments he has held is President of the Canadian Bar Association. In 2000, oral history records from his work with the Advocates' Society Project were deposited with The Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History.
  • The Hon. Nicholas Kasirer Supreme Court of Canada, Ottawa, ON
      Nicholas Kasirer was appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada in 2019, after serving as a judge in the Quebec Court of Appeal since 2009. During his distinguished career at McGill University, he served as James McGill Professor of Law, Director of the Quebec Centre for Private and Comparative Law, and Dean of Law. Nicholas Kasirer is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a Titular Member of the International Academy of Comparative Law. He has authored over 100 publications in a variety of fields, including civil law, comparative law and jurilinguistics.
  • Jean Lambert Chambre des notaires du Québec, Montréal, QC
      Jean Lambert has enjoyed a private practice in Montreal since 1969. He served as president of Chambre des notaires du Québec from 1984 to 1990 and was re-elected as president in 2009 and served until May 2014. He has been a member of the Commission des soins de fin de vie since 2016. Committed to his community, Jean served as councillor for the municipality of Val-Morin and has been active in provincial politics. He has been a professional radio and television broadcaster and is currently corporate secretary for Éditions du Boréal.
  • Susan T. McGrath Barrister & Solicitor, Iroquois Falls, ON
      Since being called to the bar in 1979, Ms. McGrath has operated a law practice in Iroquois Falls while actively serving the legal community at local, provincial and national levels. Since May 2012, Ms. McGrath has volunteered as Chair of Lawyers' Professional Indemnity Company based in Toronto.
  • J. Patrick Peacock, Q.C. Peacock Linder & Halt LLP, Calgary, AB
      For more than 50 years, Mr. Peacock has practiced as a trial lawyer and regulatory counsel. He served as President of the Canadian Bar Association and is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. He was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1983.
  • Mary Margaret Pelton Stokes Legge and Legge Barristers and Solicitors, Toronto, ON
      Mary Stokes is a partner at Legge & Legge in Toronto. Her practice focuses on estate planning and estate administration. She holds a doctorate in law from Osgoode Hall Law School and has worked as an adjunct professor and course director in law at Osgoode Hall Law School and in law and society at York University. She has given numerous presentations and has published articles and book reviews on legal history. She is a long-standing member of the board of directors of the Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History for whom she serves as communications chair and social media coordinator.
  • Donald E. Short Superior Court of Justice, Office of the Case Management Masters, Toronto, ON
      Master Short was appointed in 2009 after a distinguished law career that focused on civil litigation, construction law and alternative dispute resolution (ADR). The Ontario Bar Association presented him with its Distinguished Service Award in 1999 and its Award for Excellence in ADR in 2001.
  • John D. Stefaniuk Thompson Dorfman Sweatman LLP, Winnipeg, MB
      John D. Stefaniuk is a partner with over 30 years’ experience in real property development law, natural resources and environmental law, and energy, infrastructure projects, and municipal law matters. He appears regularly before government licensing bodies and administrative tribunals, including municipal councils and provincial legislative committees, in connection with municipal and property issues. John is also a trained mediator.
  • Judge Thomas S. Woods (retired) Provincial Court of British Columbia, Port Coquitlam, BC
      Thomas S. Woods served as a judge of the Provincial Court of British Columbia from 2007 until his retirement in September 2019. His first career (1974–1984) was spent as a behaviour therapist and director of a program serving autistic children. After graduating from law school in 1987, he practised civil litigation as an associate (1988‒1995) and then as a partner (1995‒2007) at Lawson Lundell LLP in Vancouver. He has published and presented widely on law and on behaviour therapy. He is also a prolific author of short fiction and poetry (under his pen name, P.W. Bridgman).